The Complete Works of William Shakespeare

The original electronic source for these versions is the Complete Moby(tm) Shakespeare. There may be differences between a copy of a play that you happen to be familiar with and the one on this server: Don't worry, this is a very common phenomenon.

A brief a tribute to the much missed Bernard Levin, here is his witty & masterful "Brush Up Your Shakespeare"

About the glossary  
"Lambs" Tales of Shakespeare - originally meant for children, but a great introduction or study aid.
Comedies Histories Tragedies Romances
All's Well That Ends Well
As You Like It
The Comedy of Errors
Love's Labours Lost
Measure for Measure
The Merry Wives of Windsor
The Merchant of Venice
A Midsummer Night's Dream
Much Ado About Nothing
The Taming of the Shrew
Troilus and Cressida
Twelfth Night
Two Gentlemen of Verona
Henry IV, part 1
Henry IV, part 2
Henry V
Henry VI, part 1
Henry VI, part 2
Henry VI, part 3
Henry VIII
King John
Richard II
Richard III
Antony and Cleopatra
Julius Caesar 
King Lear
Romeo and Juliet
Timon of Athens
Titus Andronicus

Pericles, Prince of Tyre
The Winter's Tale
The Tempest
The Two Noble Kinsmen


The Sonnets
A Lover's Complaint
The Rape of Lucrece
Venus and Adonis

Funeral Elegy by W.S.

Plot Synopses
Much Ado About Nothing

About the categories

Shakespeare's plays are often arranged in categories: tragedies, comedies, romances or histories.  That arrangement is included here (along with a fifth column for poetry), but it is important to realise that the categories are not Shakespeare's.

A number of Shakespeare's plays were published as quarto editions (so-named because the paper was folded twice, making four pages on one side of a sheet of paper) during his lifetime. These individual editions had no "category" listed, though they often contained words like history or tragedy in the title, e.g. The Most Excellent and Lamentable Tragedy of Romeo and Juliet, The Tragedy of King Richard the Third, or The History of Henry the Fourth.

The arrangement of the plays into the categories is a practice begun with the First Folio, which was printed in 1623, seven years after Shakespeare's death.